Media coverage during Menzies campaign


July 28, 2016

Here is a chronological list of media coverage during the Menzies campaign.

Thursday, July 28
The Australian on public funding figures

Fairfax business gossip column on public funding

Interview with Wendy Harmer on 702 ABC Sydney on public funding

Crikey story on public funding figures


Malcolm Farr on public funding figures for news.com.au

Monday, July 18
Crikey story on campaign finance

Friday, July 15
Interview with Tom Elliott on 3AW

Another swipe from Gerard Henderson

Fairfax coverage on Turnbull's $1m donation

Wednesday, July 13
Kevin Andrews interview on Sky News

Friday, July 8
Gerard Henderson takes a swipe

Thursday, July 7
Mayne Report edition wrapping the election

Wednesday, July 6
Crikey story on public funding for independents

Saturday, July 2
AAP story on cards being pulled after this email blast to full Mayne Report list.

Piece in The Saturday Paper about campaign finance reform

Friday, July 1
Final Menzies email blast to Mayne Report list

Tuesday, June 28
The Age on Kevin Andrews taking another $10,000 from Clubs NSW

Monday, June 27
Full page ad in The Manningham Leader and Kroger stoush appears in print.

Campaign update to full Mayne Report update

Sunday, June 26
Two hour discussion on RRR's The Party Show with Tom Elliott and Patrick Durkin

Friday, June 24
Crikey story on "Fake Liberal" battle with Michael Kroger

Thursday, June 23
Michael Kroger writes to The Manningham Leader

Tuesday, June 21
Guy Rundle piece for Crikey after candidate's forum

Interviewed by Peter Van Onselen on Sky News

Roy Morgan press release suggesting promising support in Menzies

Monday, June 20
AFR Rear Window piece on catch up with Julie Bishop

Crikey piece
on PM's Olympic dinner

Sunday, June 19
Radio National Background Briefing feature on political donations

Friday, June 17
Mayne Report full email edition, AAP piece on Kevin's sign attack, also mentioned on The Australian's live election blog.

Thursday, June 16
Email update to campaign supporters

Tuesday, June 14
2UE interview about stadium pork barrelling, Crikey piece didn't run

Monday, June 13
Herald Sun story on Robert Doyle's supportive statement

Friday, June 10
Ballot draw day and lots of action in Menzies - Crikey

Mayne Report email update

Tuesday, June 7
Cash rolls in for "true liberal" in Menzies - The Age

Full page ad in The Warrandyte Diary

Monday, June 6
Crikey story and piece in The Australian about this full page ad bumped to p20 of The Manningham Leader

Manningham Leader on Doncaster Rail positions

Saturday, June 4
Press conference with Nick Xenophon run live on ABC News 24, Mayne Report email edition.

Tuesday, May 31
Interview with Jon Faine about candidates betting on Federal election

Mayne Report email edition update on Menzies campaign

Monday, May 30
Advice for James Mathison on how to beat Tony Abbott in Warringah - Crikey

Article in The Manningham Leader on competition for Kevin

Thursday, May 26
Disclosing donations online, but will Kevin Andrews match this? - Crikey

Attacked in CBD News for running a profligate budget at City of Melbourne

Wednesday, May 25
"Paralysed by fear" - letter in The Canberra Times responding to Four Corners

Tuesday, May 24
Interview with Tim Shaw on 2CC about political donations

Mayne Report email update to campaign donors and supporters

Monday, May 23
Mayne Report email edition on Menzies campaign and Four Corners

Appeared on Four Corners commenting on political donations.

Can Four Corners kick-start some campaign finance reform? - Crikey

Thursday, May 19
Item in Age/SMH CBD business gossip column about ASA AGM

Wednesday, May 18
AFR Rear Window piece on Abbott and Kevin Andrews fundraiser at Veneto Club

Tuesday, May 17
Supportive blog post by former BRW reporter Leo D'Angelo Fisher on Menzies tilt

Monday, May 16
Outlining the scenario in Menzies if hung parliament - Crikey

Letter in The Manningham Leader about sacked Kevin Andrews staffer

Friday, May 13
Interview with Tom Elliott on 3AW about councillors running federally

Wednesday, May 11
Interview with Tim Shaw on challenge to Kevin Andrews

Rear Window piece in The AFR about cranky Frank Lowy at Westfield AGM

Monday, May 9
Explaining the Menzies campaign for Crikey

Saturday, May 7
The Age broke the story of tilt

Mayne Report special edition announcing tilt

Called for Kevin Andrews to quit - Sky News interview

Follow up to Sky interview after tilt announce - AAP

A few of Kevin's flyers and other PDFs

Kevin's letter accompanying postal vote application form

A bad day for Kevin in The Manningham Leader

Kevin's letter to newly enrolled voters

Kevin's taxpayer funded survey for newly enrolled Menzies voters

Kevin's flyer with picture of PM photo-shopped

Flyer about Westfield's expansion plans

Templestowe Probus Club flyer

Kevin Andrews take out p4 of Manningham Leader on June 13

Michael Sukhar's lavish election promises in marginal Deakin

Audio message 53 seconds

Malcolm Turnbull letter to Warringah voters

Malcolm Turnbull letter to Menzies voters

Letter from AEC about public funding

Letter from AEC