2014 Mayne Report Diary


January 2, 2016

Here is the Mayne Report diary from 2014.


Wednesday, December 31
New Year's Eve at Town Hall

Tuesday, December 30
Exited Retail Food Group SPP

Wednesday, December 24
Meeting with ASX100 chairman

Monday, December 22
End of year Mayne Report email edition sent out

Friday, December 19

Crikey story on ANZ AGM

Thursday, December 18
Attended ANZ AGM and wrote this Crikey story on Ten AGM

Wednesday, December 17
Crikey story on Gerry Harvey capital raising rip-off

Tuesday, December 16
Crikey story on Retail Food Group capital raising. Attended last council meeting of the year - see agenda

Monday, December 15
Crikey story on new hotel proposal at Crown Melbourne.

Friday, December 12

Crikey story on ANZ's huge fossil fuel exposures

Thursday, December 11
Crikey story on unfair capital raisings

Tuesday, December 9

City of Melbourne committee meeting - see agenda.

Monday, December 8
Crikey story on Victoria's finances and separate piece on Rupert's Fox share sales.

Sunday, December 7
Took the family to Tropfest viewing in the Botanical Gardens

Thursday, December 4
Crikey story on CBA AGM votes

Wednesday, December 3

Crikey story on last day AGM laggards

Tuesday, December 2
Attended 3 hour City of Melbourne committee meeting - see agenda

Sunday, November 30
Sent out this special Mayne Report edition on Victorian election

Friday, November 28

Crikey story on the AGM season that was

Thursday, November 27

Launched Crikey's tablet promises project, wrote Crikey story on Cabcharge AGM

Wednesday, November 26
Attended Cabcharge AGM in Sydney, not elected to board

Tuesday, November 25
Council meeting - see agenda and audio.

Monday, November 24
Crikey story on governance issues at Network Ten

Sunday, November 23
Mayne Report email edition on Vic election and much more

Friday, November 21

Crikey story on governance issues in the media

Thursday, November 20

Crikey story on Murdoch-Saudi situation

Sunday, November 16

Mayne Report email edition on Rupert and Victorian election

Friday, November 14

Crikey story on News Corp AGM

Thursday, November 13
Crikey story on 21st Century Fox AGM

Wednesday, November 12
Mayne Report edition ahead of Rupert visit

Tuesday, November 11
4 hour committee meeting at council

Monday, November 8
Crikey story on governance issues at CBA

Friday, November 7
Crikey story on Fairfax AGM

Thursday, November 6
Badly flogged at Fairfax AGM. See package of links.

Wednesday, November 5
Sent this Mayne Report email edition

Tuesday, November 4:
Crikey story on history of "casino cronyism" in Victoria

Thursday, October 30

Crikey story on Melbourne and Sydney planning regimes

Wednesday, October 29

Crikey story on director protests, Age story about planning reforms

Monday, October 27
Crikey story on Victorian planning system

Thursday, October 23
Crikey story on secretive Victorian councils

Wednesday, October 22
Crikey story on 100 signature rule for EGMs

Tuesday, October 21
Crikey story on Gina Rinehart attendance record at Ten

Tuesday, October 14Crikey story on old men staying on boards

Friday, October 10

Crikey story on Transurban out-playing successive Victorian governments

Wednesday, October 8
Crikey story on Fairfax board dyamics

Explaining upcoming election contests

There have been two Mayne Report email editions in September explaining all the corporate activism plans. Read them here:

Friday, September 19
Tilts, Fairfax, CBA, Brickworks, Albert Park, ASX, Woolies, pokies and Crown


Monday, September 15
Bumper email edition

Thursday, September 18: Crikey story on capital raisings.

Friday, September 12:
finished up with ASA.

Monday, September 7:
exit announced from ASA to contest a series of upcoming elections.

Thursday, September 4:
lodged this motion for FMC, see Herald Sun coverage.

Tuesday, September 2:
Future Melbourne Committee at council. See agenda.

Monday, September 1: opinion piece in The Age on Melbourne's People's Panel.

Friday, August 29:
story about Qantas loss for The New Daily.

Thursday, August 28: attended Daniel Andrews luncheon at Property Council.

Tuesday, August 26: August council meeting.

Saturday, August 23:
first day of City of Melbourne's People's Panel to advise on 10 year plan.

Thursday, August 21:
in Adelaide for ASA board meeting, plus two ABC radio interviews about News Corp leaks.

Tuesday, August 12: Committee meeting at council.

Friday, August 8:
City of Melbourne audit committee.

Thursday, August 7: City of Melbourne Finance and Governance portfolio meeting.

Tuesday, August 5: City of Melbourne Future Melbourne Committee meeting.

Friday, August 1: Woodside EGM in Perth (via webcast).

Tuesday, July 30:
council meeting.

Thursday, July 24:
in Sydney for Macquarie AGM.

Friday, July 11: Herald Sun article expressing concern about defacto casino expansion.

Thursday, July 10: enjoyed having the kids for a day as Paula worked.

Wednesday, July 9: 14 hour day at the Town Hall attending meetings and working.

Tuesday, July 8: supported idea a CBUS deal to create 3000sqm public open space on Collins Street at council an in AFR article.

Friday, July 4:
enjoyed Docklands fireworks with the family.

Thursday, July 3: finance portfolio meeting at council and chatted to 3AW about big towers in Melbourne.

Tuesday, July 1: planning dominated Future Melbourne Committee meeting.

Sunday, June 29: enjoyed two hour session on RRR's The Party Show with Headley Gritter.

Friday, June 27: Crikey story on Fairfax's latest Rich List.

Tuesday, June 24:
June council meeting at City of Melbourne.

Friday, June 20:
in Sydney for resumed Westfield Retail AGM.

Wednesday, June 18: Crikey story on Di Gribble Argument debate.

Tuesday, June 10:
Future Melbourne Committee meeting.

Thursday, June 5: training session with ASA's Victorian monitors and class actions panel debate in Sydney.

Wednesday, June 4: talk on capital raising at ASA Investor Hour in Melbourne.

Tuesday, June 3: Future Melbourne Committee meeting.

Saturday, May 31: Westfield piece published in The AFR.

Friday, May 30: full day on Gold Coast working on ASA website and IT issues.

Thursday, May 29: long day in Sydney attending Westfield shareholder meetings and doing media.

Wednesday, May 28: attended 4 meetings in Town Hall on separate planning matters.

Tuesday, May 27: council briefing and then public council meeting.

Friday, May 23: girls at home on pupil free day, worked on ASA magazine.

Thursday, May 22:
full day at Town Hall.

Wednesday, May 21: speech to ASA Bendigo branch, then attended Planning portfolio meeting.

Tuesday, May 20:
council briefing session.

Monday, May 19:
in Sydney for Leighton and Boart Longyear AGMs.

Friday, May 16: MAV state council and then City of Melbourne audit committee.

Tuesday, May 13: council briefings then Future Melbourne Committee meeting.

Thursday, May 8:
public release of City of Melbourne budget.

Wednesday, May 7: meetings at council and ASA work.

Tuesday, May 6: lots of media on Packer-Gyngell brawl and then 200 minute City of Melbourne committee meeting.

Thursday, May 1:
phone hook up with ASA company monitoring chairs.

Wednesday, April 30: meetings at Town Hall, then long night on ASA matters.

Tuesday, April 29:
council briefings and then April council meeting at Town Hall in evening.

Monday, April 28: interviewed for PM story on Goodman Fielder takeover bid.

Sunday, April 27
: goal umpired junior footy.

Saturday, April 26: worked on ASA website.

Friday, April 25: worked up some ASA media positioning on $2.7b Transurban capital raising, attended Storm/Warriors game at AAMI Stadium.

Thursday, April 24:
in Sydney for ASA training on new website and systems. Motion on Queen Vic fund made public.

Wednesday, April 23: in Adelaide for ASA company monitor training.

Tuesday, April 22: council briefings.

EASTER: nice break with the family in Cobram.

Monday, April 14:
in Sydney for a full day of ASA work.

Sunday, April 13: plenty of ASA work, including tweet-fest on age profiles of directors.

Saturday, April 12:
debate with John Colvin about business risk on Radio National with Geraldine Doogue.

Friday, April 11: budget meeting at City of Melbourne.

Thursday, April 10: MAV metro forum and dinner.

Wednesday, April 9: ABC radio interview on David Jones, Planning portfolio meeting and Queen Vic meetings at council.

Tuesday, April 8: council briefings and then Future Melbourne Committee meeting.

Sunday, April 6: Laura and Philip played footy.

Saturday, April 5: attended "Deadly Funny" at the Comedy Festival.

Thursday, April 3: attended Finance and Governance portfolio meeting at Town Hall.

Wednesday, April 2: Planning portfolio meetings at council.

Tuesday, April 1: interview on RRR about Lachlan, then City of Melbourne briefings and committee meeting.

Monday, March 31: new ASA policy platform launched.

Sunday, March 30: attended fabulous Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show.

Friday, March 28: stayed home working on ASA matters then attended footy training with Philip.

Thursday, March 27:
range of media interviews about Medibank and Lachlan Murdoch, then attended East Melbourne community forum. Great win by the Tiges.

Wednesday, March 26: interview on ABC Brisbane about Medibank IPO. Attended planning portfolio meeting.

Tuesday, March 25: council meeting which unanimously opposed change to Racial Discrimination Act.

Monday, March 24:
debate at conference about "merge or die" in community sector.

Sunday, March 23: gave this story to The Australian about the 'last day laggards' club.

Friday, March 21:
full day in Brisbane training ASA company monitors on new policies.

Thursday, March 20:
attended first City of Melbourne community forum.

Wednesday, March 19: interview on ABC1 about 100 signature rule, plus wrote Crikey story on shareholder activism.

Tuesday, March 18: flew back to Melbourne, council meetings all day, including Bike Forum, then spoke at Kew Cottages AGM.

Monday, March 17: presented at CFO's conference on the Gold Coast.

Sunday, March 16: flew to Gold Coast for CFO's conference, enjoyed 70 minute burst from Wayne Swan.

Friday, March 14: busy day on ASA matters and sent this missive to WA Senate candidates regarding preferences.

Thursday, March 13:
interviewed on The Business about Leighton takeover.

Wednesday, March 12: regular Finance portfolio chat plus Planning portfolio meeting at council. Attended Milan-Melbourne 10th birthday sister city dinner.

Tuesday, March 11: council briefings then lengthy public committee meeting in the evening.

Monday, March 10: missed Moomba as in Sydney for ASA monitor training.

Friday, March 7: meeting over lunch with Yarra River business groups and ASA board phone hook up on policies.

Thursday, March 6:
attended two International Women's Day events, plus finance portfolio meeting at Town Hall.

Wednesday, March 5: submitted new ASA policy position to board and attended finance and planning meetings at Town Hall.

Tuesday, March 4:
council briefings and then committee meeting.

Monday, March 3:
Crikey story on Qantas.

Saturday, March 1:
chat with Geraldine Doogue on Radio National's Saturday Extra about Qantas.

Friday, February 28:
full day in Sydney on ASA matters, plus Qantas interview on ABC Brisbane.

Thursday, February 27:
interviewed on ABC statewide drive in Queensland on Qantas.

Wednesday, February 26: interviewed for this story on 7.30 about possible Myer-DJs merger.

Tuesday, February 25:
full day at council, including March council meeting which supported contract disclosure motion.

Sunday, February 23:
meeting with ASA chairman to go through final edits of new policy document.

Saturday, February 22: kids sport all day then attended fabulous White Night in town.

Friday, February 21:
attended 3 hour City of Melbourne audit committee meeting.

Thursday, February 20:
all day ASA meeting in Melbourne reviewing company monitoring.

Wednesday, February 19: attended ASA board meeting in Melbourne, plus meetings at council.

Tuesday, February 18:
interview on ABC Sydney about Rupert's $882 million tax windfall, plus full day at council.

Monday, February 17: attended launch of Institute of Community Directors Australia.

Sunday, February 16: plenty of prep work ahead of busy week of ASA meetings.

Friday, February 14: happy 14th birthday to Crikey. Wearing reading glasses for first time. Participated in debate at LGPRO conference.

Wednesday, February 12: planning portfolio meeting at council. Gave some grabs to Seven News on ComBank profit.

Tuesday, February 11: Crazy day of media commitments on David Jones board coup. Future Melbourne Committee meeting. See agenda.

Friday, February 7:
finished editing ASA monthly magazine, $5000 into Austin Engineering SPP plus quoted in AFR on Leighton share dealings.

Thursday, February 6: two hour monthly finance portfolio meeting at council, plus quoted in AFR on Virgin troubles.

Wednesday, February 5: weekly chat at Town Hall on finance portfolio, plus regular State government planning session.

Tuesday, February 4: 8 hours of council briefings and meetings, including marathon session on 2014-15 plan.

Monday, February 3:
busy morning tweeting after AEC belatedly dumps all political donations data from way back in 2012-13.

Sunday, February 2:
kids tennis then attended boat show and road the Melbourne Star.

Saturday, February 1:
lots of kids basketball, then watched Melbourne Boomers lose to Canberra in WNBL.

Friday, January 31: first day for Alice at new school, then a long day processing ASA AGM reports for Equity magazine.

Thursday, January 30: Laura starts high school.

Wednesday, January 29: Philip back at school.

Tuesday, January 28: full day back in the saddle at Town Hall with a variety of meetings.

Monday, January 27: strong coverage in The Australian and Courier Mail of ASA position on Billabong.

Sunday, January 26:
ASA released these voting intentions ahead of Billabong EGM.

Saturday, January 25:
ASA Fox position picked up in The Australian and The Age.

Friday, January 24: issued this ASA press release calling for an OZ buyback from 21st Century Fox.

Thursday, January 23:
whole family back from Phillip Island as school preparations begin.

Wednesday, January 22:
back at Town Hall for finance portfolio update, then off to the tennis.

Tuesday, January 21: drove back to Melbourne from Phillip Island.

Monday, January 20: Crikey story on Rupert Murdoch.

Sunday, January 19: long day on ASA matters then back to Phillip Island.

Saturday, January 18: an afternoon at the tennis.

Friday, January 17: back after a few days with the family at Phillip Island.

Monday, January 13:
ABC radio interview on Telstra's Sensis sale.

Sunday, January 12: long weekend at home working on ASA policy review and magazine.

Friday, January 10:
spent $500 on Iselect shares. Long day on ASA/share matters.

Thursday, January 9:
bought into Regis and Decmil, subscribed to CFX SPP.

Wednesday, January 8: council phone briefing, ASA work and updated tax records.

Monday, January 6: ASA Sydney office reopens for business.

Friday, January 3:
arrived home after a 10 day road trip to Canberra and Sydney.